What's New

Program Update

FIRST accepted 8 candidates into the program for the 2016-2017 fiscal year Heidi Adams, University of Florida, Eryn Bernardy, Georgia Institute of Technology; Ryan Downey, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Amanda GibsonIndiana University; Miguel ReyesClark University; Derrick Morton, Clark Atlanta University; Shana WatsonUniversity of South Carolina School of Medicine; and Jeticia Sistrunk, University of MarylandThe departments housing these postdoctoral fellows at Emory University include the Departments of Cell Biology, Physiology, Nephrology, Pediatrics, Biology and Radiology as well as the department of Environmental Health in Emory University's Rollins School of Public Health.

The recruitment period for fiscal year 2016-2017 will open on January 1, 2017. Please contact beverly.medley@emory.edu if you have any questions or need additional information about the recruitment process for this year.

Annual IRACDA Conference

University of Alabama at Birmingham's MERIT program will host the 2017 IRACDA conference June 4-6. . Please mark your calendars today! See website for more information: http://www.uab.edu/iracda/.

FIRST Fellows Continue to Receive Faculty Appointments

(For the full list of appointments received by FIRST fellows see 
Job Placements of Graduates

  • JaNelle Ricks, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
  • Cristy Tower-Gilchrist, Lecturer, Emory School of Nursing, Atlanta, GA
  • Elizabeth Walker, Assistant Research Professor, Department of Behavioral Sciences and Health Education, Emory Rollins School of Public Health, Atlanta, GA
  • Jerald Dumas, Assistant Professor, Department of Engineering, Hampton University, Hampton, VA

Other Positions:

FIRST Alumni Continue to Receive Major Funding

Dr. Sarah Stabenfeldt - An Assistant Professor at the Arizona State University, School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering, received an NIH funded grant from NICHD - 1DP2HD084067-01. The title of her project is:Detecting and Treating Traumatic Brain Injury Pathology Progression From The INSI and is funded from 09/15/2014 - 08/31/2019.

Dr. Erin Keen-Rhinehart - A tenured Associate Professor of Biology at Susquehanna University, received a Career award from NSF/IOS (Division of Integrative Organismal Systems). The title of her project is: CAREER: Impact of maternal nutrient availability on offspring neuroendocrinology and behavior and is funded from 8/15/2014 - 7/31/2019. ( Notice of Award)

Dr. Sarah Brosnan - A tenured Associate Professor at Georgia State University, has received funding from NSF from the Division of Social and Ecomonic Sciences for her project titled: Collaborative Research: Expectations About Reward Outcomes. This project is funded from 9/15/2014 - 8/31/2018 (Notice of Award). She has another NSF project titled: Collaborative Research: Primate and Human Social Decision-Making. This project is funded from 9/15/2011 - 8/15/2017. (Notice of Award). Dr. Brosnan has been continuously funded by NSF since 2007 when her faculty position began at Georgia State University.


FIRST Fellows Seminar Series

The FIRST Seminar Series is a peer research conference where fellows give mini-seminars about their individual research. It is also a forum in which fellows can practice an upcoming lecture for a particular course or practice a job talk prior to going out on job interviews. The most senior fellows generally begin the series of talks each year since they are further along in their research. Fellows are encouraged to take notes and give their colleagues feedback as to their general knowledge of the subject and presentation.

The conferences will be held on the 2nd Tuesday of every month from 12:00 - 1:00 PM. Refreshments will be served. All are welcome to attend.

Seminar Schedule 2016-2017

Published Articles Associated with the FIRST Program

Available Postdoc Positions

No listings at this time. Continue to check back for future opportinities.